A week in the life of Murph….

27 May

Murph-1

The goal of Metabolic Flexibility is to fuel your workouts by loading carbohydrates around them, relying on mostly fats, proteins and fibrous vegetables the rest of the time.  For more information on our book and how to get help with your body composition goals click here for information.

By the way this is Shannon speaking…

Sunday, May 19th….

This is the post from my CrossFit box:

Reminder:

Saturday all classes are happening-both adult and kids.

Monday-Memorial Day we will have only one class at 10:00 am.

We will be doing Murph. Be ready to run rain or shine!
For those of you new this year Murph is a hero WOD.

For time: (the mid section of body weight exercises can be partitioned any way.)

1 mile run
100 pull ups
200 push ups
300 air squats
1 mile run

Do not be intimidated by this WOD; everything can be scaled.  There is no time cap, and if you think of it as one movement at a time you are golden!

See you all there!

My reaction – hell to the double f’ing no!  I will move on…

Throughout the week, I didn’t think much about Murph.  I wasn’t doing it, so why would I be concerned about it?  I went about my week completing my WOD’s, which felt awful and hard….Paul chuckled as he observed the carnage after Thursday’s deadlift WOD…I kinda wanted to beat the shit out of him as he laughed, but couldn’t lift my arms….fucker….

Later that night as we stayed for our kid’s teens class, Paul bragged that his third CF class was Murph….he failed to share his results…I still thought nothing of Murph, I would go and take some great pictures of the brave souls who came out in honor or Murph, and I would honor him as I toasted my beer to him….

Saturday, May 25th

Dalton has CrossFit teens class and my husband and I both go to watch.  There is still a lot of talk about Murph…Mostly people dreading the 2 miles of running .  I off course shared in their complaining, even though I wasn’t doing the WOD.  There were a few who asked if I was planning on doing this Hero WOD, luckily, I tweaked my groin on Thursday which gave me the perfect excuse to NOT do Murph, although I had no worries about simply telling them, “Hell No!”  After Dalton’s class, Gretch, his trainer, was telling us how it wasn’t nearly as bad as some of the other WODS.  “Just break it up and it’s doable” she says…Well, if I could break up the mile run at the beginning and end over a few days, I might be open to trying it!  We left CrossFit with no thoughts of Murph.

Later that day as I am browsing Facebook, I come across the video about Murph and his story.   Shit!  Now I am feeling a little guilty about not doing it.  Certainly not guilty enough to sign up for the WOD, but still a little guilty…

No thoughts of Murph……watching the Blackhawks beat the Redwings (Woot woot!!!)….no thoughts of Murph….

A message pops up on my Facebook…it’s from Maggie….

“Leaning towards coming back tomorrow night and would then sign up. How can I convince you to join me in an almost death WOD? (I bet we could do 10/20/30×10 rounds to break it up?)

Or I might just skip and drink . Crap. Decisions.”

DAMN YOU MAGGIE!!!!!  That was the only push I needed.  My reply…

“Ugh….I am starting to feel guilty about not doing it…I just don’t wanna run…I could walk faster than I could run…Vicki is also contemplating…it’ll be an hour + wod for me…

double crap

we could drink after…..”

That was that…I made it public information that Maggie and I were doing Murph by posting it on Facebook…no turning back now!  Now the dread begins!

Sunday, May 26th

I wake up thinking, “What the hell did I do last night?”  Regret seeps in along with a whole lot of fear.  I can’t even cancel because SO many people were so happy that I decided to do it…damn damn damn…I guess I should EAT TO PERFORM today!  CBL in all it’s glory!

Not the best carbs, but made some absolutely delicious blueberry pancakes for breakfast.  They really are phenomenal.  I was going to post that recipe, but I ate them so fast and forgot to take a picture.  I started thinking about what to make for dinner.  It’s memorial day, so grilling would be the popular choice, however, it’s 50 degrees and cloudy in Minnesota, so I have no desire to grill.  I have been contemplating making some sort of lasagna type dish but never figured out what ingredients to use.  I’m not a big fan of eggplant so I didn’t want to use that…sweet potato?  Hmmmmm…Well Murph, you not only got me to sign up for your HERO WOD, but you have a dish named after you too…Let’s hope it helps me make it through tomorrow!

Murph’s “Lasagna”

Ingredients

  • 4 sweet potatoes, peeled and sliced into 1/4 inch slices (lengthwise)
  • 2 pounds italian ground turkey sausage
  • 1 medium red onion, chopped
  • 3 14 oz cans of diced tomatoes (I prefer the tomatoes from San Marzano – they cost more but taste DELICIOUS!)
  • 1 cup of coconut milk
  • 1 tbsp Italian seasoning
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 2 tbsp coconut oil

Cook your turkey sausage in a large skillet, drain and set aside.  In the same pan, melt 1 tbsp of coconut oil and cook your onions until transluscent.  Add the 3 cans of tomatoes, coconut milk, italian seasoning and salt and pepper.  Bring to a boil, reduce heat to low.  Continue cooking for another 5 minutes or so.  In your crockpot, grease the bottom and sides with melted coconut oil.  Place one layer of sweet potato slices on the bottom of the crockpot, followed by a layer of the tomato mixture and then sausage.  Continue layering until you run out of one of the ingredient layers (I got about 4 or 5 layers done).  Cook on low for 6-8 hours.  Enjoy!

