Extreme Fat Loss Seminar Time Stamped and Transcribed

21 May

warning fat loss

The central theme of your Science Lab membership is the idea of Metabolic Flexibility.  We wrote these chapters specifically for High Intensity Weightlifting Sports.  Along with that you get the UNLIMITED ability to talk to coaches and nutrition experts in these seminars as well as our private group click this link for details.

(Click “Continue reading” to jump to a time stamp and transcription of this seminar)

(Click on a time to jump to that section)

[0:00:00]  Why people with more fat carry more muscle, avoiding muscle loss while losing fat, and modifying workouts to your strengths

[0:05:48]  Why you need to build muscle to lose fat, eating for running, and how to tell if you’re going overboard with carbs

[0:15:29]  Why big drops in scale weight aren’t necessarily a good thing

[0:17:46]  When adding more carbs doesn’t feel right, Vitargo

[0:20:15]  Carbs and protein in your post-workout shake

[0:23:38]  When the scale is more valuable than the mirror, weight gain when eating high carb, adding rest days to lose fat, weight loss on control days

[0:28:37]  Determining how many control days you need in a week

[0:31:14]  Protein supplementation, when eating more frequent meals is a good idea

[0:34:40]  Protein and fat requirements, body fat testing

[0:43:52]  Why you have to go slow to get where you want to go, breaking the low carb curse, gaining muscle to lose fat, and cycling carbs

[0:54:00]  When cardio hurts fat loss

We talked a lot about protein supplements in this video, here is a review of why Whey Hydrosylates absorb better and allow for better recovery.

[0:00:00]  Why people with more fat carry more muscle, avoiding muscle loss while losing fat, and modifying workouts to your strengths

[0:00:00] Paul:  This is Paul Nobles from Eat To Perform.com.  We have a bunch of people here for the extreme fat loss class, many of whom are relatively new to CrossFit and kind of adjusting to this whole lifestyle.  Some people have been here for a while, kind of struggling through fat loss issues.  Hopefully we can provide some insight on how to break through some of those plateaus and move on from there.

Heather asked a question:  “A couple days ago, I posted about women that are heavier in hips and chest.  I never developed a chest, just a belly and overall body fat.  Is there anything different with that body type?”

In general, if you’re carrying a fair amount of fat, you’re probably also carrying around a fair amount of muscle.  Your body sort of has to adjust to…That’s one of things that people don’t realize; when you start to get heavier, your body naturally adds a little bit more muscle as a defense mechanism.  It doesn’t necessarily do 1:1 or anything like that, but in general, people who have a little more fat tend to also have a little bit more muscle.  That’s one of the reasons why on the TDEE calculator, what you’ll see is, when the weight starts to go up, so does the BMR.

Actually, we had a little bit of a silly debate with someone about that.  His argument was kind of ridiculous, because when you see multiple body fat tests, what you see is that as people gain weight, they tend to gain muscle.  As people lose weight, they tend to lose muscle.  There are certainly ways to deal with that, but for instance, it would be very difficult to lb. for lb. gain 20 lbs. and have that just be 20 lbs. of fat.  In that instance then, of course, your BMR would look relatively similar.  The only problem is that the physics just don’t work there; that’s just not how it works.

Even if your body type isn’t big in the hips, isn’t big in the chest, you probably still are strong.  In general, you can use that work capacity to allow yourself to progress.  One of the things that’s a mistake for a lot of the people that need to lose a fair amount of fat is taking an overly-cardio approach to basically just work to tear down both fat and muscle.  It also creates a super-stressful atmosphere.  What you see on shows like “The Biggest Loser” and things like that, is that these people become a metabolic train wreck,

You want some level of stability in your system that allows for some cardio training, some lighter lifting…I mean, I always suggest in this class that you guys need to be finishing at a similar time period as the top people in the gym.  If you’ve got a WOD and it’s as many reps as possible, and a lot of the top people in the gym are finishing at 14 minutes, and you’re finishing at 29 minutes…You’re not a hero.  You’re not doing it correctly.  They talk about this in the level 1 classes; I’ve talked about this in the extreme fat loss article.  The people at the top of the gym, ultimately the workouts or the timing need to be similar, so you modify the workout to whatever it is that allows you to get the general idea of what that workout is.

So if that workout is heavy, then you should really try to push your limits as it relates to “heavy”.  But if that workout is a glycogen depleting, cardio-type workout, operating too close to your 1RM isn’t going to be positive in the long run.

[0:05:48]  Why you need to build muscle to lose fat, eating for running, and how to tell if you’re going overboard with carbs

[0:05:48]  Erica asked:  “Hi Paul.  49 year old female, 29½ % body fat per DXA…”  Which is probably pretty right.  DXA’s pretty much the gold standard.  A lot of the other readings can be a little bit off, and DXA’s certainly not perfect, but it’s about as good as you get.  She’s 5’4”…”I CrossFit at 6 a.m., 2 on/1 off, 2-3 mile recovery run on the off day and a 3-5 mile tempo run on Saturday.  Rest on Sunday.  I’m still fine-tuning my macros but I’m hitting my targets for the most part using LBM for protein, carbs, 139g of fat.  Fluctuating 2 lbs. up and down over the last week.  Is that sufficient or is it a sign I need to change something?”

That sounds good, but your carbs are too low.  You’re not really pushing it to the limit that you really wanna do.  You’re really not putting yourself in a position to mostly build, which is something I’ve been talking about a lot.  It’s fine that you run; I don’t have any problem with the running, and it’s spring time, you know…It’s kind of an interesting thing you run.  But in general, you’re probably going to need to up your carbohydrate to really start to see some of the metabolic effect and make sure that you get in major protein turnover, and you’re not getting major catabolism as it relates to your CrossFit cardio but also your running.

The nice thing about a 3-5 mile tempo run is that it’s not going to put an extreme tax on your body but…And I know that’s difficult for a lot of us to do…Is to rest.  I can tell you that what you’re currently doing is what’s holding you at 29.5% body fat.  I know that’s counter-intuitive to what most people think, but what you really want is that 29.5% body fat…You want some level of building.  Let me give you an example:

Let’s say that your carbohydrate actually were to get you up to 155 lbs.  Since you’re relatively low carbohydrate at this point, let’s so you get to 155 and because you’ve been low carbohydrate, within 3 months, that is a majority of muscle.  The math on that basically looks like 5% body fat.  You could potentially go to 24½% by going to 155 lbs.  Well, actually, I’m a little wrong on that…If for instance you stayed at the same weight, and were to add the 7 ½ lbs. then you would.  In general, what you could do is you could allow for a little bit more carbohydrate, use the 155 as an example, and then sort of take a control day approach (kinda similar to what I talked about with the 6% body fat article).

She’s saying she’s been low carb for 3 years…When you’ve been low carb for a long time, what happens is, your cells become relatively inflexible.  As you start to add some of that flexibility in, it really starts to pay off in the gym.  So one of the suggestions that I would make is to rest more.  For instance, when I train for the Tough Mudder (which I’ll probably start doing in a little bit here) I’ll just to some test runs…Just a 10 mile run on Sunday, just to see how it feels.  If it feels fine…I know it’s not gonna be easy, but it’s probably not gonna be super hard either.  I won’t necessarily do 10 miles every single Sunday going up to the Tough Mudder; I’ll probably do it once every two-three weeks or whenever I feel like it.

But when I do feel like it, you can guarantee that I’ll be eating and drinking a lot of carbohydrate that day, because I certainly don’t want those days to be counterproductive as it relates to what I did on the other days in the gym.  That’s the approach to mostly building.  I use some extreme examples of 155, and how to gain 5%…A lot of it’s much more gradual than that.  Like I’m saying, if you’re 148 lbs. and you get to 152-153 lbs…I suspect that would actually look pretty good in the mirror and you’d probably like it.  You would definitely like the “mostly fed” approach.

What you’re talking about, and what you’re describing, I see so often in body fat tests.  Especially for women that are coming from a low calorie Paleo-type approach.  Not that Paleo’s bad, but when they don’t know the amounts of food they’re supposed to be eating, it sort of makes things a little bit difficult.  That’s the answer to that; I think that it sounds like you have a pretty good feel for the control of the weight, but I would say to you that you need to start allowing yourself a little more leeway.  I like the fact that you’re able to kind of keep things in check.  You see this a lot with the guys; the guys sort of let things get out of hand real easily.  Then they’ll come back to me and say, “Well, hey, what do you think about this approach?  I just gained 10 lbs.  I was like, “That sounds like a really bad approach.”

The idea is you have to have some understanding of what’s going on in your body, and it doesn’t really allow you to embrace your inner fat kid.  The whole point here is to eat to fuel your workouts; it’s not to eat to enjoy Ben n’ Jerry’s.  (Not that you can’t enjoy B n’ J occasionally).  I don’t eat highly restricted, but I don’t excessive carbs either.  It sort of keeps things in check for me.  It allows me to build pretty gradually.

Certainly, I’ve done bulking cycles where I put on a little bit more weight.  I went from 149 ½ to where I’m at now, which is 165 , but not all of that was muscle.  It was pretty efficient in terms of most bulking cycles.  A lot of guys go from 9% body fat to 25%, and for me to go from 15-16% and now probably more in the 12% range…That puts me in a good spot to get in the single digits.  The way that I’m getting into single digits, to be completely honest with you, is lifting more heavy, and slower.  You’re starting to see that in some of the powerlifting pictures.

One of the reasons why you’re seeing a lot of powerlifting pictures right now is because I hurt my elbow.  It really doesn’t allow me to do a lot of the pull-ups and toes to bar and things like that.  It just tends to tweak my elbow too much.

[0:15:29]  Why big drops in scale weight aren’t necessarily a good thing

[0:15:29]  “What do you suggest I increase my carbs to by the way?  My TDEE is 2092.”  What I would like to see you do is increase to 200 on certain days, and then kinda come down to that 100 number maybe one day…Two control days…Something of that nature.  Sort of feel it out, right?  I think that’s what people see the best response with.  I think they get sort of scared that, you know, “Oh my goodness; if I have a 250g carb day, that it’s going to really, really mess things up.”

In fact, it’s the exact opposite.  You’re sort of forcing your cells to become adaptable.  With that forced adaptability comes more, and positive, metabolic function.  You’re already describing a scenario where your body is relatively metabolically functioning.  So I say test it a little bit, especially on days where you see that the scale is kinda down.  I talked about that a little bit this week where, the scale goes down…A lot of people are like, “Yay, that is the most awesome thing on the planet!”  It’s like really bad in a lot of instances when you lose 3-4 lbs. because that’s not going to equate to fat loss.  A lot of times it can be muscle loss.  On those days it’s hard to have a good workout because you didn’t fuel your body appropriately.

As you guys can tell, I’m a little hoarse from CrossFit Templar karaoke night.  We had one of our gym members who did, by the way, a great version of “Thrift Shop”.  If I get a shot to upload that I will, ‘cause she was really good.

[0:17:46]  When adding more carbs doesn’t feel right, Vitargo

[0:17:46]  Erica’s saying that she feels so much better on the 100g of carbs that she can’t wait to see what 200g will do.  You know, I’ll give you an example of how maybe it might not feel right.  It’ll be interesting to try.  Because I’m relatively lean, especially when I’m lifting really heavy, I’ll have carbohydrate even in the morning to make sure I’m getting that protein turnover and some of the benefits of the post-workout.  I’ve been using Vitargo, which is a pure glucose agent.  Mike Nelson recommended it in the group the other day to one of the guys and I was like, “Awww, shoot, I’ve been meaning to get some Vitargo.”  So I picked up some Vitargo.  The first day I did one scoop with some Gatorade…Like half a thing of Gatorade and that felt great.  I felt energized the whole time.

Today I did it with two scoops of Vitargo and Gatorade and it was just a totally negative experience.  So I probably won’t be doing the 2 scoop approach any time soon.  Maybe my cells just aren’t flexible; with the Gatorade it’s almost 100g of carbohydrate all at once.  I think that kind of messed with me for a few hours afterwards, and even though I did have an omelet to have sort of a blunting type of experience…I think it was just a little bit too much overload for my system, and so, one thing I would suggest to you Erica is maybe kinda…Span it out a little bit, so you’re not eating this big huge insulin dump at one time in the night.  I think you’ll probably get a little bit better of a response as a result.

[0:20:15]  Carbs and protein in your post-workout shake

[0:20:15]  Erica’s asking a lot of questions, which is great.  What is your question Erica, related to protein shakes…”After WOD with fat?”  No…For you Erica, even though you’re in that funny land where you more or less…What I would like to see you do Erica, is I would like you to test some carbohydrate in your post-workout shake.  “Can I put protein in my shake at night?”  Yes you can.  In fact, for a lot of people, that is a big value for people as it relates to protein.

One of the things I’ve been doing lately…It’s been really difficult with the site, and 133,000 people showing up in my life after about 8 weeks.  Some of the meal planning that I used to be able to do real easily has become kind of difficult.  I’ve found myself sometimes at the end of the night struggling with calories, maybe struggling with protein.  I’m not really worried about the calories part ‘cause I know can make it up the following day, but I do worry about the protein part because you can only get in so much protein.  So instead of my cherry pineapple coconut milk smoothie, I’ve been having a lot more chocolate coconut from Simply Pure Nutrients.  (Which by the way, Simply Pure Nutrients is having free shipping so this is probably a good time to stock up on that.)  I will tell you this; that Pro 3 chocolate coconut is so, so good.  We have that in shakes with coconut milk right before bed with some bananas and that is some really good stuff.  I don’t use it often because I have a dairy protein allergy, but in general, when I do use it, I think it’s beneficial.

“How about adding the protein to a smoothie?”  Yeah sure, that’s exactly what I do.

[0:23:38]  When the scale is more valuable than the mirror, weight gain when eating high carb, adding rest days to lose fat, weight loss on control days

[0:23:38]  Cory, did you have a question?  Alright, Cory hit me up with a question real quick.

“Hi Paul.  6’4”, 343 lbs., 33% body fat.  You mentioned last week that I should be at 250-300g of carbs…How long should this period be for, and how should I implement control days once they’re necessary?”  Well, they’re probably necessary right now.  You judge the control days based on the look in the mirror, but the look in the mirror when you have a lot of fat to lose isn’t always completely telling. So you really do need to look at the scale.  If the scale’s going up too drastically, you kinda wanna head that off.

For a lot of people, it doesn’t go up drastically; it tends to go down.  Now, some of that added inflammation from the carbs might negatively affect you, and that’s why you use the control days to kinda keep that in.  One of the big suggestions I have, especially for people with a lot of fat to lose, is if you’re going 5 days right now…You want to lose some fat; maybe an added day of rest occasionally would show big benefits.  I think people get way too into this “eat less” and then screw yourself into the ground model.  It’s just really not beneficial as it relates to stress.  You really can have your body holding onto a lot more fat.

What are you seeing Cory?  Is the scale going up?  Have you seen the scale go down at all?  Can you give me a little feedback on what that looks like?  He says, “By the way I’m about 12 lbs. in the last 8 days after low carbing for a long time.  My lifts have improved tremendously and I no longer feel like crap all day.”  Which is good!  Since you’re a big person, 12 lbs. is not going to be a huge deal.  You’re probably filling up your fat cells for a while here.

At your size, you probably could refill your muscles up to a point of maybe 8 lbs. but it’s probably not completely efficient.  What I would suggest to you is that you do have to add in some of those control days in there just to keep at that relatively reasonable level.  What I think you’re probably establishing is that the weight that you’d worked down to was probably pulling a lot of water out of your body and out of your muscles.  You’re probably adding some of that back in, and it’s allowing for better workouts and lifting better and things of that nature.

Will it hurt your cardio a little bit though?  My guess is you’re probably like me though; cardio’s not your big strong point anyway so it doesn’t end up being that big of a deal.  You don’t wanna let things get out of hand.  As I illustrated on my control day, I lost almost 3 lbs. on that one day alone and that gets a little concerning.  It’d be interesting to see if you could put a couple control days, kinda see what that looks like.  You know, what effect that would have on the scale.  I suspect it will be pretty positive.  But you know, the 12 lbs. for a person that’s almost 350 lbs…You’re just setting your metabolism to a point where it’s going to start mobilizing things a little bit better.  You’ve just gotta make sure to keep things in check as you go.  It’ll be a process.

[0:28:37]  Determining how many control days you need in a week

[0:28:37]  Cory:  “ So If I feel relatively puffy, fit in a control day or two?”

Paul:  Yes.  For sure; if you’re feeling strong and more athletic, make it one control day.  In Kiefer’s example, through the Carb Back-Loading book, these people are lifting weight 3x a week and having 4 control days.  We’re CrossFitters, so we’re working out a lot more days a week.  You wanna make sure that you’re able to keep things in line.  They don’t get too out of hand.  But it doesn’t sound like you’re overly concerned about the 12 lbs. especially as it relates to your added athleticism, but it does sound like…If you’ve done 8 days (as an example) where you’ve done 300g of carbs every day and your weight is up as a result, then obviously that’s telling us something and we need to kinda listen to that

So does that make sense to you Cory?  Super.  We don’t really have a lot of questions at this point, and I did say that I would allow for some questions outside the realm of the extreme fat loss.  So if people want to go ahead and add some of those questions, that would be great.  Otherwise this session’s gonna be really, really super short.  I know one of the things that’s actually been nice, is because of the group (which has really only been up a week right?), I think it was only Monday that we started it and now the group has 300 people…Just that process alone has allowed us to really cater out content towards what you guys need.  What I’m seeing is, there’s a lot fewer questions in the seminars, and that’s kind of fun.

[0:31:14]  Protein supplementation, when eating more frequent meals is a good idea

[0:31:14]  Austin said, “At what body fat percentage should people refrain from protein shakes as it relates to fat loss?”

Well, post-workout.  I think the big issue with post-workout shakes is that extreme fat loss people (as an example), they need more calories.  A lot of times they can actually get some of those calories.  But in terms of needing them post-workout, their fat layer will actually serve as some measure of protection.  In general, what they would probably do, is something in the order of my coconut milk smoothies…Maybe adding some protein to that…

What you guys are gonna see is that having that high-functioning metabolism really makes a difference over time.  I think any time, if you’re a woman over say 30%…Let’s say that you’re in the 37-38% range…I’ll give you an example.  There was a client that I was working with, and she was struggling through some of the fat mobilization, and kinda keeping the metabolism rolling.  Whenever we body fat tested, she would show some fat loss change but she was losing a lot of muscle in the process.  I think she was at 34%, something like that.  We had her add post-workout shakes 2x a week as a way to aid in that muscle protein turnover.

That’s one of the adjustments you need to make, but in general, if you’re 37-38% body fat, you probably wanna hold off for a little more fat mobilization.  My one concern is that people using too many calories in the evening isn’t always positive because it doesn’t allow your body to digest that major amount of food.  There is some level of planning that needs to happen.  I know that if you’re a bigger person…Like Cory is saying, he’s 6’4”…For him, eating two meals a day is probably not the right strategy.  It’s probably gonna be really difficult for Cory to get in that amount of food.  I don’t know whether or not he’s tried a two-meal strategy, but those would be gigantic meals.  So you’ve gotta be kinda careful of that.

[0:34:40]  Protein and fat requirements, body fat testing

[0:34:40]  Steve’s asking…”I think the calculator is great; however, at 278 lbs. and 6’6” I was unsure of what to enter for fat and protein.  I would be the extreme fat loss type.”  I don’t agree with you; I don’t believe that you are the extreme fat loss type.  For a 6’6” person at 270 lbs. that’s a pretty reasonable weight.  I’m not saying that you wouldn’t wanna have some…I’m just saying that the extreme nature of that isn’t something that you need to be overly worried about.

But to address your question…I would probably be somewhere in the neighborhood of 300g of carbohydrate.  One of the things I would suggest to you Steve is that if you’re at 300g of carbohydrate…Let’s say that you’re at 270g of protein, that easily solves for the fat, so you kinda know where that’s supposed to be.  In terms of how you can optimize that towards getting to an area that you wanna be, obviously a -10% approach is somewhat right but you should probably listen to what I was saying with Cory.  What people tend to do is they go, “Well, Paul said I should back-load every day when I CF 5-6x a week.”  Which is true, but that doesn’t mean that you don’t reduce your level of carbs to a more reasonable number.  That’s pretty much what I do to kind of keep things in check.

Does that answer your question Steve?  Because in general…One thing I would suggest to you is that you should probably consider getting a body fat test form a DXA scan or a BOD POD.  You could probably estimate that though.  I mean, do you have any idea of what your body fat is?  Body fat’s 26%…So you could also use the lean body mass number.  People need to realize that 26% is not a death sentence; I mean 26% for a person that’s 6’6”, 270 lbs…That’s like a linebacker in the NFL, or a tight-end.  You can be a relatively athletic person at that weight, so I wouldn’t get caught up in the weight part of it necessarily.

Because of your muscle mass and things of that nature, you do have some big opportunities is it relates to increasing your athleticism going to a mostly building approach, and then kinda go up from there.  I’ll say to people I’m 12-13% and they’ll look at me like I’m fat or something, but 26% is nowhere near what your neighbors are.  You know?  It’s nowhere near what people in the mall are.  I know that’s not the standard that we wanna judge ourselves by, but you do have to have a little bit of perspective on this.

As someone who’s sort of embraced this more patient approach…It’s just so much more mentally gratifying to be able to go into the gym and you’re mostly fed most of the time…It just allows for better athletic performance.  Are you understanding though Steve, how we’re solving for fats now?  I know we are working on a document that…’cause everybody sort of comes at us at different levels; some people have been training for years and some people are kinda new to macronutrients/micronutrients/things of that nature.

So we’re gonna try to put together a document for all those various people.  But certainly for the people that are relatively new to CrossFit, relatively new to an accountability-type of approach to eating.  That should be interesting; hopefully we’ll have that in by the end of the week.  Steve’s saying one more thing and then I’ll get to Melissa’s question…

Cory:  “I do know that after reviewing the notes from my old data, my old macronutrients were beer so that was the first type of nutrients that made sense.”

Paul:  You know, beer is difficult because it’s not highly thermic, so I recommend for people that are trying to keep alcohol into the mix…Kinda move to more of a red wine, which is highly thermic.  We have that come up a lot in the women’s seminars where I’m actually recommending the red wine as a way of sorta leaning out, using a glass or two once or twice a week in that process.

I know for guys that doesn’t make the whole beer thing that much better, but on the same note…It’s his life.  One of things that’s sort of nice about what we’re doing is that I think a lot of us are really striving to be good athletes…But health is really kind of the big focus.  Yeah, we have a few regional competitors, we have some athletes, I mean…Austin looks like he’s a pretty athletic young dude, but the good majority of people are just gonna function better with like a single-minded focus…And really kind of a relaxed approach to this whole thing.

I’m sure we’ve all been in that boat where you’ve dieted, and you feel like you make a big mistake by having cheesecake or whatever it is, right?  The problem is that your cells were relatively inflexible so whatever you took in didn’t really allow for that type of flexibility.  In general, I think if we can take a more moderate/relaxed approach, it’s just better from a health standpoint, but also from a mental health standpoint.  There are studies that show that when you have a flexible dieting approach and you’re much more understanding…I think the whole idea of control days…And I mean, I don’t love control days…

Actually, the control day that I did the other day did not feel right.  I didn’t like it.  It wasn’t something that I’m all that comfortable doing, and I don’t know that I really…I think my body was kind of even recovering from that.  I did deadlifts today, I was able to lift 405 relatively comfortable.  But in general, I felt like going so low on carbohydrate sort of drug me down going into Sunday and even into today.

[0:43:52]  Why you have to go slow to get where you want to go, breaking the low carb curse, gaining muscle to lose fat, and cycling carbs

[0:43:52]  Melissa says she’s a 33 year old female, 170 lbs., 5’6”.  She CrossFits fasted at 10 a.m., usually 4 days a week.  Been shooting for 160 protein/120 carbs…Probably carbs need to be more like 160…The night before training you have 50g and then control days…It won’t work like that Melissa.  If you’re gonna do 50g on control days, you need to do 200g on your other days.  150g the night before training and then 180 on control days.  “TDEE is 2475 and I’ve been hitting my macros pretty well, but haven’t seen much change in my waist.  I lost 1” in my waist and lost 3 lbs. since March 11th. Do you think this is a sufficient amount of fat loss, or do you think I could dial my macros in and lose more, a little quicker?”

If you lose more a little quicker, it won’t stick.  That’s why you have to go slow, and that’s why you have to embrace…If you’re gonna go 50g of carbohydrate on control days, and you know what?  Hey, if that works for you and that feels good, then go for it.  But you can’t go 50g of carbohydrate, and then go 50g on Sundays, and then go 120g of carbohydrate on the other days.  As April is showing you, as a 135 lb. woman who is almost the exact same size as you, she’s having 300g of carbohydrate, and then 200g of carbohydrate on her control days.

One of the things that you need to know about April is that I’ve known April for close to 3 years now.  I knew April when she was trying a low carb approach.  We’ve sort of figured some of this out together, and that’s why she’s one of my closest friends as it relates to this struggle.  I think that, if you’re not pushing the carbohydrate more…

Does that make sense Melissa?  You’re putting yourself into a situation where you’re not allowing for the flexibility.  You’re saying to me that what you want is to reach a certain amount of goals…A certain amount of waist line, but you’re basically doing some version of the same thing you’ve always done, just eating more food…Which is fine; it’s probably better than what you were doing.  But it’s not going to be substantially better than improving and changing the way that you wanna do things.

“Yes, but I have fat to lose; April does not…”That whole fat to lose thing man…You don’t have fat to lose.  I know that you think you have fat to lose.  I mean, you’re 5’6”, you’re 157 lbs…Until you embrace a mostly building approach…When you say fat to lose, what is your body fat %?  Do you know it?  You don’t know your body fat?  Can you estimate it based on…?

I mean, here’s the problem with not knowing your body fat.  You’re saying 25-30%…You should really go get it measured, because it’s going to tell you a lot.  It’s probably higher than you think.  But I mean, I dunno.  I’ve seen  a lot of body fat tests Melissa, and for your size I’m guessing you’re probably 27-28% and the secret to 27-28% is carbs.  I’m just telling you that flat-out.  It’s a mostly building approach, and if you don’t do that mostly building approach, you’re gonna get stuck there for a really long time.  You have to allow your muscle to start to come out to reach your loose skin.  That’s going to be a huge benefit to you.

Right; of course you do…She’s saying that she has loose skin that she can’t get rid of.  The reason why you can’t get rid of it is because your body’s holding onto it.  You’re not allowing for significant protein turnover.  Until you get significant protein turnover and you start to get your metabolism functioning the way that it’s supposed to…

“I need more carbs and less fat?”  Yes.  You need more carbs on your carb-up days.  I don’t have any problem with your 50g carb days…I mean, I think it’s extreme, I don’t think you need to do that…I think you can kind of control you weight.  But if you’re gonna try and do this and lose weight with a relatively dramatic approach, you’re going to find, if you’re starting to test your body fat, that you’re not seeing the types of gains as it relates to your muscle.  I think you said you were 156…157 lbs.  You might need to stay at 157…Let’s say that you could get to 160 lbs.  That would be 2% body fat that you could add right there…And you probably are going to get to 160 once you start having that carbohydrate…And then all of a sudden you just have those days that you come down to 156, then you go up to 159 ½, then you come down to 155.5…

That’s how it works.  That’s ultimately how you get a high-functioning metabolism.  Your approach right now is some version of the same approach that you’ve done the whole time; only thing is that you’re eating more.  Which is fine.  That’s good.  That’s probably helpful, but it’s not going to get you where you wanna be.  I’ve seen a thousand body fat tests, and now I’m probably going to be seeing a lot more, and it’s always consistent.  It always comes down to going to a more of a building approach and getting more tone.  In general, the reason why you have that loose skin at the bottom of your abdomen is because that muscle is being artificially repressed by your low carbohydrate approach.

We’re not talking about a super-high carbohydrate approach.  200g of carbs is not high, especially when you’re coming back with 50g of carbs to keep it in check, so I would keep that in mind.  But Melissa, I’m gonna move onto some of the other questions.

Steve said, “I would go with a group to the University of Minnesota BOD POD…”  Well, you can come with us Steve.  We’re doing it.  My gym…We have about, I’d say, 30 people that’re going to the University of Minnesota on the 20th and 27th.  I won’t be there on the 20th ‘cause I’ll be out of town, but if you wanna come on the 27th, you’d be able to meet me.  Hopefully, they will have some spots for us but for right now, I’m kinda waiting back to hear from them.  But in general, I think we meet about 8:30 in the morning and usually it’s about 7-10 people, maybe 15…You know, depending on how many people are kinda gung-ho about getting the information.  Some people sort of know that they haven’t really had results and then don’t show up, so that’s kind of hard to deal with as well.

We’re gonna be closing this down in about 5 minutes.  This has been a pretty good session I think, and I think we’ve had some good questions.

[0:54:00]  When cardio hurts fat loss, branching out from your standard programming, and finding what you’re good at

[0:54:00]  Austin said, “For anyone looking to lose fat, what point does cardio running help or hinder fat loss?”  Well, it almost always hinders fat loss…Speaking to an overly cardio approach.  Having a moderate amount of cardio is very helpful.  I think that’s one of the benefits of CrossFit.  You have sort of this intersection of both cardio and resistance training.  It allows for this perfect hybrid as long as you’re moving correctly.  Once again, I’ve seen too many body fat tests to know what the trends are.  The trends are always favorable as it relates to building.

Cardio is not a building activity; it’s a breaking down activity.  There are a lot of people that kinda come at me with CrossFit that’re more like powerlifters or bodybuilders and they’ll say, “Oh, you know, CrossFit isn’t really great for leaning out.”  And there’s something to that.  I think for a lot of people, we kind of screw ourselves into the ground CFing 5-6x a week, and it becomes like an overly cardio approach.  I’ve taken a mostly rested approach to CrossFit.  When I first started CrossFit, I was 22% body fat, got down to 9% body fat, now I’m sitting at about 12-13%…

If you take adequate rest cycles, if you allow for slow lifting occasionally.  I mean, I really hope that a lot of your boxes are taking a…What’s happening with CrossFit is that, for a lot of us, we’re not gonna make it to regionals.  We’re not gonna be super-good at any one aspect of CrossFit.  But what ends up happening, like for me as an example, I’m relatively strong for my size.  That allows me to kind of branch out into the powerlifting side of things.  Well, the thing about the powerlifting side of things is that my gym doesn’t really offer that; they don’t have a slow lifting class, and so I had to join another gym to do that.

That gym…Is like…That’s where the strongest people in Minnesota live, and truthfully, it’s probably a good place for me to be, because…If you’re trying to get stronger and you’re already kinda strong…Only way to do that is to find people that are stronger than you.  Not saying that there’s not a lot of people stronger than me in my own gym, but they’re not that much stronger than me.  One thing that I’ve noticed as I’ve been going to Southside Bully in Burnsville, Minnesota…Is that these subtle little changes that people are offering are things that are kind of difficult to do in the fast CrossFit WODs.  It’s nice to be able to do that.

But you know, for a lot of people, they’re more interested in Olympic lifting.  So if your CF box isn’t offering Olympic lifting, they’re probably losing some opportunity.  People are gonna join other gyms and things of that nature.  They’ll just have to do what businesses do to stay competitive I think.

Austin:  “I shall chug me some whole milk.”

Paul:  I think that answers you question Austin, is that…We need to embrace other aspects of what CF is.  I think that if you’re not the gym killer, and you’re good at gymnastic movements, you should explore gymnastics.  If you’re good at the running part of things and you can still kinda keep to a more building approach, then do that.  We’ve got several high-level triathletes in my gym, and they take a really smart approach to their health and I’ve been able to help them a little bit, and that’s been nice.

So Steve, if you can maybe message me, I can give you the details. I’m still waiting to hear back.  I’m hoping that answered your question Austin.  And yeah, I love Outlaw; I think Outlaw is a great program.  I’ve had a lot of exposure to it through my conversations with Elisabeth.  Cory says, “Should I be at TDEE or TDEE -10%?”  You should be at TDEE -10% Cory.  That is the thing about the extreme fat loss class; I am suggesting to people that they need to explore how they can perform the best but we also need to realize that we are trying to lose some body fat here.  You just don’t wanna go to this extreme 30-40% lower calories and then kind of crush your metabolism as a result.

Erica said she wanted to thank me for all that I do…”Love the hangouts, Facebook page and the articles.”  She’s gotta run to a soccer game, and on that note, I also have to run because I have to eat dinner.  I appreciate everybody being here; if you have any additional questions just hit me up in the group…And Austin is showing us his dinner.  It was a great class, we’re probably going to end up with this one transcribed and I’ll talk to you guys later.

