Creamy Cajun Scrambled Egg Breakfast…or lunch or dinner….

28 Apr

I joked with Shannon the other day that she is the female version of me.  She is just real and tell’s it like it is and, oh by the way, she is strong as hell.  If you think our Metabolic Flexibility book for High Intensity Athletes isn’t for people with more fat to lose you are wrong.  We actually do a class on Monday nights specifically for those folks.  Click here for info and to join the Extreme Fat Loss Challenge in the Science Lab.

So yesterday I did my first Bod Pod.  For those of you that have no clue what that is, you sit in an egg shaped contraption in your sports bra and swimsuit bottom, you hear some banging, you emerge to receive your body fat percentage…for some, this ends in tears and meltdowns, for me…it was what I expected.  After several years of eating foods that did nothing for my health and doing little to no exercise, my body fat percentage is at 43%.  I have no shame in sharing this percentage (it’s actually a little less than I thought it would be).  I can still say over half of my body weight is muscle, right?  This number did not put me into a depression or send me to tears….it motivated me.  I have a drive now that I did not have 2 days ago.  I plan to push my body to its limits, lift heavy weights and EAT TO PERFORM!  I cannot wait for my next Bod Pod to see how much muscle I have gained and how much fat I have shed….

However, yesterday was an eating free for all and today I need to start my newly motivated journey…it starts with a power breakfast.  I was at a restaurant the other night and had a delicious concoction of veggies topping my overcooked steak.  Very often, my recipes are created from something I ate at a restaurant.  I try to determine the ingredients and add my own alterations and it usually comes out better than the restaurant’s version.  This recipe is derived from my overcooked steak topping and I think it may top my grassfed steak that will be on the dinner table tonight too (my steak will not be overcooked though).

When I make scrambled eggs, I make them separately from everything else.  I used to cook my eggs, veggies and meat all together, but it often turned into a mess.  Now, I cook my eggs so they are yellow and lovely and cook my country sausage separately.  I combine them when I am ready to eat.  Not only does it look much prettier, but the texture and taste is great!  This also allows me to save some of my cooked sausage to add to eggs another day.  Of course the sausage is optional.  Feel free to leave it out or substitute it for something else – cajun sausage would be a great replacement…

Another favorite of mine is Louisiana Cajun Seasoning.  I use it A LOT!  This recipe is one that it is delicious in.

Cajun Seasoning

Creamy Cajun Scrambled Egg Breakfast

Ingredients

  • 5 tbsp butter
  • ½ red onion, diced
  • ½ poblano pepper, diced in ½ inch pieces
  • ½ red bell pepper, diced in ½ inch pieces
  • ½ yellow bell pepper, diced in ½ inch pieces
  • 1 tbsp minced garlic
  • 1 tbsp Louisiana Cajun Seasoning
  • 1 cup sliced mushrooms
  • 1 cup halved grape tomatoes
  • 2 large handfuls of baby spinach
  • a splash of cream, milk, half and half or white wine
  • 5 eggs, scrambled
  • ½ lb country sausage, cooked and drained (optional)

Over medium high heat, melt 1 tbsp of your butter in a skillet.  Add the onion and peppers.  Saute until softened, about 8 minutes, stirring frequently.  Add the garlic and continue cooking for about one minute.  Add your Cajun seasoning and cook for one minute.  Add the remaining 4 tbsp of butter along with your mushrooms, tomatoes and spinach.  Reduce heat to medium low and cook for another 5 minutes or so, until spinach is wilted.  Add a splash of cream, milk, wine…whatever you have on hand and cook another couple of minutes until thickened.  Serve over your scrambled eggs mixed with your sausage.

Enjoy!

Creamy Cajun Eggs